What the evidence shows
US public charging data document a working and expanding network, alongside genuine reliability problems. J.D. Power's 2025 survey reported unsuccessful charging visits among 14% of owners, down from 19% in 2024; these percentages are owner reports, not nationwide failure rates per charging session.
Older vehicles or current generations?
A direct vehicle-cohort comparison is not valid: NREL counts charging infrastructure, while J.D. Power surveys charging experiences rather than testing the same older and newer vehicles on the same routes. The J.D. Power public release does not report respondents' model years or battery versions.
We separate vehicles from before 2023 and 2023 onward. A report’s publication date does not establish a vehicle’s model year or a battery’s manufacturing date.
Model or system evidenceU.S. public charging infrastructure inventory
- What was measured
- No vehicle sample; the report counts public charging ports and locations.
- Vehicle years
- Not applicable.
- Battery chemistry
- Not applicable.
- Battery capacity
- Not applicable.
- Battery manufacture
- Not applicable.
- Observation period
- Alternative Fueling Station Locator snapshot, Q1 2024.
Vehicle years not establishedJ.D. Power public-charging owner surveys
- Vehicles / sample
- BEV and PHEV owners; 2025 survey included 7,428 owners, but the public release names no respondent vehicle models or model years.
- Vehicle years
- Not reported; survey field dates are not vehicle model years.
- Battery chemistry
- Not reported.
- Battery capacity
- Not reported.
- Battery manufacture
- Not reported.
- Observation period
- Surveys fielded January–June 2024 and January–June 2025.
“Not reported” means the source does not disclose it. Model year, first registration, vehicle assembly and battery manufacture are different dates. Unmatched studies cannot establish how much newer batteries improved.
Which brands do these results describe?
NREL counts infrastructure and J.D. Power surveys BEV/PHEV owners without publishing respondent model rosters. These are charging-system and mixed-fleet survey findings; manufacturer-specific road-trip comparisons are not available. Individual respondent models are not disclosed by the sources.
All manufacturers are OEMs. These groups describe brand focus, not a quality ranking or country of origin. EV-focused brands can also sell plug-in hybrids. Results apply to the identified models, batteries and conditions.
Manufacturer and model sources (2)
There is a functioning network, with uneven coverage
A categorical claim of impossibility does not fit the evidence. NREL's report using the US Alternative Fueling Station Locator documented 3,152 additional public DC fast-charging ports in the first quarter of 2024, an 8.2% increase. Its results also showed concentration of charging infrastructure: California held 26.7% of public ports across charging levels. Counts establish that infrastructure exists and grows; they do not show that every rural route has a convenient backup or that every listed port works. [1]
The reliability objection has evidence behind it
J.D. Power's 2025 study surveyed 7,428 BEV and plug-in hybrid owners from January through June. Fourteen percent reported visiting a charger without successfully charging, compared with 19% in 2024. Charger malfunction accounted for 60% of reported failed visits. The improvement is meaningful, but the remaining inconvenience is also real. Crucially, 14% is a proportion of surveyed owners reporting this experience, rather than a measured failure rate across all US charging sessions. [3]
Longer stops also change travel. The 2024 study reported average fast-charging sessions of 27 minutes when automatic payment was used, eight minutes less than sessions paid with a credit or debit card. That is evidence of ordinary successful charging, but not a standardized stopwatch test of vehicle charging speed. Battery condition on arrival, the charging setup and the payment process differ across respondents. A reported average should not become a promise that any car can recover any desired range in 27 minutes. [2]
The 2025 results also varied by place. Owners in the Pacific region most often reported a visit without a charge (21%) and a wait for an available charger (12%); in East South Central, the figures were 7% and 5%. Among major cities, Seattle and Los Angeles had the highest reported unsuccessful visits, at 25% and 24%. These are survey responses from owners, not measured failure rates for every charging session. [3]
Practicality depends on the trip
A practical itinerary needs compatible fast chargers at intervals the car can reach under the actual conditions, plus alternatives if a site fails or has a queue. Drivers should examine highway consumption, charging performance and destination charging together. An advertised maximum charging power cannot by itself tell someone how long an entire journey will take. This is an inference about trip planning, not a claim that the surveys evaluated every route.
Someone making occasional journeys along well-served corridors may find meal and rest stops easy to combine with charging. A driver facing sparse rural coverage, repeated tightly timed journeys or limited alternatives may find the inconvenience significant. Neither experience invalidates the other. The defensible conclusion is that EV road trips are feasible on many routes while charging reliability, coverage and extra time remain legitimate purchase considerations. Assess the journeys you actually make, rather than treating a national port total or an isolated failed charger as the whole answer.
Data period: AFDC infrastructure snapshot Q1 2024; J.D. Power surveys fielded January–June 2024 and January–June 2025
What this does—and doesn’t—tell us
- The surveys include both BEVs and PHEVs and are not an experiment running identical road trips in every car.
- The 14% and 19% figures describe surveyed owners reporting a non-charge visit, not the proportion of all national charging sessions that failed.
- Port counts do not establish uptime, route coverage, connector compatibility or queue length; reported session averages are not a guarantee for an individual stop.
- J.D. Power's regional and city percentages are survey reports by owners, not station-level uptime or a denominator of all charging sessions.
EV road trips are feasible on many routes, but their convenience is route- and vehicle-specific. Check compatibility, realistic stop times and backup charging locations before assuming either effortless travel or impossibility.
Found something that needs checking?
Identify the statement, explain your concern, and share original sources for our review.
Keep the conversation curious.
Questions and corrections are welcome. Link your sources, challenge ideas, and be kind to people.
Discussion actions are unavailable until sign-in is configured.
You can still read published comments and their sources.
Loading discussion…