What the evidence shows
By 2026, Volvo, Mercedes-Benz, MAN and Scania trucks are carrying commercial freight in European fleets. These cases disprove the claim that heavy electric trucks only exist as prototypes, while leaving route coverage and large-scale adoption limited.
Older vehicles or current generations?
Commercial-operation evidence is tied to named vehicle generations and routes. The public sources do not establish a matched pre-2023 versus 2023+ performance comparison.
We separate vehicles from before 2023 and 2023 onward. A report’s publication date does not establish a vehicle’s model year or a battery’s manufacturing date.
Before 2023
No separate result for this group is established by the cited evidence.
2023 and newer
2023 and newerFourteen eActros 600s on Wörth customer routes
- Vehicles / sample
- Fourteen battery-electric eActros 600s were introduced with freight partners on 150 km–600 km Wörth supply routes, with depot and public charging. These are series customer vehicles, not just prototype test trucks; the route account is a manufacturer-reported deployment example.
- Vehicle years
- The route release is dated July 2025 and the 600 series began production in November 2024; individual model years are not stated.
- Battery chemistry
- Lithium iron phosphate (LFP).
- Battery capacity
- 621 kWh installed across three packs, 207 kWh each; this is nominal installed capacity, not a usable-capacity figure.
- Battery manufacture
- Exact pack build or cell production dates and origin are not reported for these 14 trucks.
- Observation period
- Routes announced July 2025; this release gives operating routes and charging arrangements, not a cumulative mileage observation window.
Vehicle years not establishedDaimler production-network fleet and telemetry
- Vehicles / sample
- Daimler reports about 80 eActros trucks from generations one and two in daily inbound-logistics use, predominantly eActros 600s. Telemetry covered more than 15 vehicles, 3,000 tours and 3,100 charging events; the source does not disaggregate the fleet-wide operating total by model.
- Vehicle years
- Both generations; exact model years and counts by generation are not reported. The eActros 600 entered series production in November 2024; this is a series-production start, not the build date of each truck in the telemetry sample.
- Battery chemistry
- eActros 600: LFP. Chemistry for the first-generation trucks is not identified in this fleet-operating report.
- Battery capacity
- eActros 600: 621 kWh installed (three 207 kWh packs). The mixed fleet's capacities and shares are not reported.
- Battery manufacture
- The truck series-production start is reported as November 2024; individual battery-pack production dates are not reported.
- Observation period
- Telemetry collection: November 2025–March 2026; fleet operation reported as of June 2026. The source says over six million electric miles, not kilometres.
“Not reported” means the source does not disclose it. Model year, first registration, vehicle assembly and battery manufacture are different dates. Unmatched studies cannot establish how much newer batteries improved.
Which brands do these results describe?
The article reports named customer fleets and product specifications for four truck makers, allowing model-specific deployment and route descriptions. The reports are not controlled cross-brand trials; they cannot produce a universal make ranking or show that every route fits.
EV-focused brands
No separately identified result for this group in the cited evidence.
Established multi-powertrain brands
Volvo · Mercedes-Benz · MAN · Scania
Named customer deployment: electric trucks operating with DFDS; model-level manufacturer evidence.
Named eActros customer routes and fleet operations reported by Daimler Truck.
Named eTGX trucks in Behrens Group freight and shuttle work.
Named electric product configurations and charging specifications; manufacturer data, not matched tests.
All manufacturers are OEMs. These groups describe brand focus, not a quality ranking or country of origin. EV-focused brands can also sell plug-in hybrids. Results apply to the identified models, batteries and conditions.
Manufacturer and model sources (4)
Four manufacturers have trucks doing paid work
The claim that electric heavy trucks are still only prototypes is contradicted by reported customer operations. Volvo said that logistics company DFDS had 95 Volvo electric trucks operating in Sweden, Denmark, Lithuania, Belgium and the Netherlands in March 2024. DFDS had ordered 125 in total at that point; a fresh order for 100 raised the combined ordered fleet to 225, with future deliveries still pending. The distinction matters: the release documents a real fleet, but does not say all 225 trucks were already on the road. [1]
Mercedes-Benz’s eActros 600 also moved beyond test tours. In July 2025, Daimler launched 14 trucks with freight partners on supply routes to its Wörth plant. Those routes were 150 km–600 km, including cross-border work, with charging at depots and, where needed, public sites. In June 2026, Daimler reported about 80 eActros of both generations in daily operation across its production network, having accumulated more than six million electric kilometres. It also reported a 600-kilometre Wörth–Bielefeld daily route at an average 36-tonne combination weight, plus a 600-kilometre South Tyrol route at up to 42 tonnes. These are reported operating examples, not a whole-industry average. [2][4]
MAN customer Behrens had put the first six of twelve eTGX trucks into distribution and shuttle work, reaching 50,000 km by July 2025. MAN reported average consumption of 80 kWh/100km–90 kWh/100km; daily trips up to 350 km were completed without recharging, while one 650-kilometre night route included a planned stop at company charging infrastructure. Scania reported 1,461 connected electric vehicles in operation in November 2025, but did not say that all were heavy trucks. Its separate examples include an ASKO customer truck with both MCS and CCS2 capability in operation, and a battery-electric timber truck in northern Sweden supported between long stretches by a mobile energy-storage unit using a biodiesel-powered charging generator. These cases show expanding use and the additional infrastructure some demanding routes still need. [3][5]
Range and payload depend on the assignment
An advertised range is not a promise at every weight. Daimler states that the eActros 600 can travel 500 km without intermediate charging at a 40-tonne combination weight and has about 22 tonnes of EU payload with a standard trailer. The company says this 500-kilometre figure comes from an internal test with preconditioning and a 20 °C ambient temperature. Scania’s current product information shows the same payload-range trade-off from a different angle: its 560-kWh usable-capacity configuration is listed for up to 560 km at 29 tonnes gross train weight, 515 km at 42 tonnes and 360 km at 64 tonnes. Those are manufacturer figures and different vehicle setups, so they should not be treated as comparative road-test results. [6][7]
Driver rules make planned charging relevant to long-haul schedules. EU rules require a break of at least 45 minutes after no more than 4.5 hours of driving. Daimler lists eActros CCS2 charging at up to 400 kW, with 10–80% taking about 70 minutes; its MCS specification is up to 1,000 kW and about 30 minutes from 20–80%. Scania has advertised up to 750 kW MCS and less than 30 minutes from 20–80%, with commercial availability announced for 2026. These charge windows differ, and full power is not held throughout a session. A break can overlap with a charge only when a compatible, working charger is at the right stop and the truck’s route and battery state make the timing useful. [8][9][10] The IEA also reports more than 1,000 charging points in the EU reserved exclusively for electric trucks. The IEA summary does not break this headline count out by public or private access, corridor coverage or charger uptime. [11]
What the evidence settles
By 2026, electric heavy trucks were doing scheduled freight work in several European countries, including regional distribution, factory supply and some long-distance routes. That is enough to reject ‘only prototypes’ as a description. It is not enough to say that they have displaced diesel at scale or fit every long-haul pattern. Daimler’s June 2026 release put battery-electric trucks at roughly two percent of new EU registrations above 16 tonnes in 2025, underscoring how early fleet deployment remained. The practical conclusion is route-specific: some fleets already use these vehicles productively, while range at load, charging access, payload needs and vehicle economics still determine whether a particular job fits. [4]
Data period: European customer operations reported from March 2024 through June 2026; route examples and vehicle specifications are identified by date and source
What this does—and doesn’t—tell us
- These are selected customer cases and manufacturer-reported fleet data, not an independent census or a head-to-head reliability study.
- Orders, announced targets and modeled annual mileage are not the same as delivered trucks or observed completed work.
- Scania's connected-electric-vehicle total is not identified as a heavy-truck-only count.
- Range figures are manufacturer specifications under stated test conditions; actual range changes with load, weather, terrain, speed, trailer, auxiliary equipment and charging access.
- Evidence of commercial operation on defined routes does not establish suitability for every payload, duty cycle or European corridor.
European electric heavy trucks are working commercial vehicles on selected routes, not prototypes. A fleet decision still needs route, load, temperature, charging and schedule data.
Found something that needs checking?
Identify the statement, explain your concern, and share original sources for our review.
Keep the conversation curious.
Questions and corrections are welcome. Link your sources, challenge ideas, and be kind to people.
Discussion actions are unavailable until sign-in is configured.
You can still read published comments and their sources.
Loading discussion…